AWS Management Committee December 1, 2005 Page 1







Town of Qualicum Beach

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE ARROWSMITH WATER SERVICE (AWS) MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE HELD ON THURSDAY DECEMBER 1, 2005 AT 2:35 PM AT THE PARKSVILLE CIVIC AND TECHNOLOGY CENTRE

Present: Director Joe Stanhope Director George Holme (Alternate) John Finnie Councillor Marc Lefebvre Fred Manson Mike Squire Councillor Scott Tanner Bob Weir Regional District of Nanaimo Regional District of Nanaimo Regional District of Nanaimo City of Parksville City of Parksville City of Parksville Town of Qualicum Beach Town of Qualicum Beach

1. Call to Order.

J. Stanhope called the meeting to order.

2. Minutes.

MOVED M. Lefebvre, SECONDED S. Tanner, that the minutes from the meeting of the Arrowsmith Water Services Management Committee held October 19, 2005 be adopted. CARRIED

3. Road Construction Costs.

MOVED M. Lefebvre, SECONDED S. Tanner, that the harvesting revenues received by the AWS partners be added to the reserve account and that the Management Committee approve the release and allocation of reserve account funds to pay the cost of the road construction.

CARRIED

In reference to the November 28th report to Management Committee on this matter, it was noted by Fred Manson and Bob Weir that, including the 2006 contribution, there is \$205,000 in the reserve and the harvesting revenues are \$13,115 for a total of \$218,115.

Sufficient funds are available in the AWS budget to accommodate the road construction costs.

4. Other.

A short discussion ensued regarding the future role of AWS in light of EPCOR's comments about securing new future sources of groundwater supply for the French Creek area if they acquired Breakwater. The Committee agreed that regardless of timing and new sources, AWS would play an important role for future supply and insuring sustainability of the groundwater resource.

The Committee thanked Scott Tanner for his participation and input to the Committee during his term.

5. Adjournment.

MOVED M. Lefebvre, SECONDED S. Tanner, that this meeting terminate.

CARRIED

TIME: 3:05 PM

J. Stanhope, Chairperson